Lessons learned? (55)

Some people believe that everything happens for a reason. Others think every event is purely random and meaningless. I guess my own view is somewhere between the two extremes. I tend to analyze the cause and effect of situations, over-analyze perhaps, but if you look deeply enough, you can usually track down the reason why things happen. For a little while after the fire, I wanted to know more about the gas leak. The firefighters knew where and when it happened but not why, but when they and insurance company eventually dropped the issue, I did, too. There was more to worry about then tracking down the cause.

Now that I’m beginning to prepare for my move back to the house, hopefully in a month, I’ve begun looking back on this whole experience. Has it really been just 3 ½ months since the fire? It feels like so much longer. More than a few people have told me how difficult times make us grow, they teach us about life and ourselves. I think they were trying to comfort me, but truthfully, I’d rather not grow quite so much. This whole experience isn’t over yet, but looking back, I wonder . . . Have I learned anything at all? Turns out, I have. Some of it is important, some is on the trivial side, and a few things I wish I hadn’t had to learn.

In no particular order, I have learned

• about the dangers of smoke inhalation, up close and personal

• how little you really need to live your daily life

• how important the little creature comforts really are

• a lot about how the interior of a house is put together

• how much power city inspectors have

• how little my personal property is worth, at least to the insurance company

• some Spanish vocabulary about building houses

• how to comfort my grown son during a breakdown but also how to let him go when he’s ready (or thinks he is)

• my little girl is not so little anymore (see post on alleged drinking party when I was out of town)

• my friends may be spread throughout the country and world, but they are there for me  in a crisis (at least virtually)

• I have generous colleagues (actually I knew this already but it was reaffirmed)

• I knew my dogs loved me but I didn’t know my 2-week separation would affect Rosie so much that she would ‘cry’ for several hours after my visits

• how fast plants die with no water in Texas heat (very)

• how to set up a blog

I’m sure I’ve forgotten a few things and know that I’ll have more to learn in the next few months. I look forward, though, to the time when I can coast for a little while and not learn any more life lessons.

Sweet Rosie

This entry was posted in Blogging, Change, Colleagues, Daughter, Dogs, Friends, Insurance, My Life, Personal Memoir, Personal Property, Rebuilding, Son, Spanish and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

