Moving Back, part 2 (73)

Moving day is always a bit crazy, so I allow myself to sleep in a bit. I still have some packing, some cleaning, and of course, last minute laundry to do. Who knows when my own washer and dryer will be hooked up, so I’m washing everything. The linens I used up until the last minute also need to be washed before they’re picked up along with the furniture from 3 to 5 this afternoon. At 8:45 I get a call from the rental furniture people asking if they can come at 9:30 instead. NO! I’m not ready! OK, the young man says, I’ll tell my boss. At 9:35 the doorbell rings and I panic. The woman who packs up all the small stuff – linens, kitchen, bathrooms – is here. But, but, I was told you would be here from 3 to 5 and I haven’t washed the linens yet! No problem, she says, as long as they’re dry. They wash everything anyways once it’s returned. Just in time as I was about to toss the sheets and towels in the washer. She is the same cheerful person I remember from May when I first moved in. I ask her if the company has been especially busy since the fires in our area, and she tells me it was kind of crazy for a few weeks, but most people seem to be settled in by now.

As she packs up, the Temporary Accommodations group calls to confirm that the furniture will be picked up from 11:30 to 1:30. NO! That’s not what they told me. I start to panic because I’ve been sent detailed instructions about wiping down furniture and cleaning the appliances or else! Since I want my $700 furniture deposit back in full, I call the manager and explain that I’m not ready because they told me yesterday at later time. Well, ma’am, sometimes people cancel on us or postpone pick-up, so our schedule changes. I can understand that, but a little heads-up would be appreciated. He then tells me that the appliance group is scheduled for Monday. Huh? I’m checking out Monday morning. I had confirmed all pick-ups yesterday, blah, blah, blah. He says he’ll find out and get back to me. Eventually he calls and says the appliance group will be there from 3 to 5. I’ve heard that before, so I skeptical. I immediately start cleaning the refrigerator.

I had planned to do some last-minute shopping in the morning. I need a blanket and some towels because the clothing restoration people wouldn’t be delivering the rest of my clothes and all my linens until later next week. I had also planned to buy a television. The cable guy is scheduled to come out Saturday morning and set up my internet, phone, and cable television service. I’m guessing that having a television in the house would help. Instead, I’m stuck at the rental house waiting around for various people to pick up everything. The furniture men show up at noon. Turns out, one of them is very afraid of dogs. My original plans were to take the dogs to my own house before the furniture people show up, but since they’re here three hours early, the dogs are still with me. I shut them in my room with food, water, and toys. They can hear all the activity going on and are getting nervous. Once the men leave, I let them out only to discover that Buddy has had an accident in my closet. He hasn’t done that in at least six years, so I suspect he’s feeling anxious. I clean up as best I can and hope that the carpet cleaner can do the rest.

I have a couple of hours before the last group comes to take the appliances, so I pack up the car with more boxes and the dogs and head over to my house. When I get there, I see that the granite countertops have been installed. They look fabulous! Everything is a bit rough and unfinished, but it’s easier to visualize the kitchen and bathrooms now. Mark, my contractor, is a bit concerned that I’m ‘camping out’ in my house because there’s only one working faucet though at least the showers work (I will soon discover, however, that while water comes out, it’s not hot). No stove yet, but the microwave and the refrigerator are plugged in. That’s fine, I reassure him. I’m just so glad to be back home. The workers leave and I let the dogs into the house for the first time. They explore the house, sniffing everything as they go. I guess it seems familiar enough because they soon fall asleep on their doggy beds. I make some tea and settle down on my new couch. It’s been a long 5 1/2 months since the fire, but I am finally home.

Master bathroom

This entry was posted in Dogs, Moving, My Life, Personal Memoir, Rebuilding, Temporary Accommodations and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

